Beach Castle - Jean-François Fourtou

Maurice Lippensplein
,
8300 Knokke-Heist

When entering Knokke-Heist by car, you are greeted by a tower created by Jean-François Fourtou. The formation appears to be haphazard. It looks as if a tremendous gust of wind has lifted the cabins into the air and tossed them down again, stacking them in random order and leaving them there.

Fourtou has been fascinated by architecture for many years. In previous works, he has used houses and interiors reminiscent of his childhood. He faithfully recreated them with surrealistic dimensions or turned them upside down. With their distinctive architecture and history, it is not surprising that the beach cabins attracted Fourtou’s attention. Beach cabins are as old as Belgian tourism itself and were originally used as changing rooms for women. Nowadays, the dimensions and shapes are regulated by each coastal community. Most of the cabins you see along the Belgian coast can be seen in Fourtou’s sculpture.

His work has been erected in a prominent location in the municipality, giving it the allure of a totem or emblem of this coastal community. Since totems originally represented people from the community, the structure can be considered a monument to beach culture, a symbol of the unity of the beach culture along the entire coastline.

Are you the owner of this location and is any of the information on this page incorrect? Please submit a correction.

Beach Castle - Jean-François Fourtou

Maurice Lippensplein
,
8300 Knokke-Heist

La tour de Jean-François Fourtou, composée de cabines de plage, vous accueille à l’entrée de Knokke-Heist. La formation ne donne pas l’impression d’avoir été strictement planifiée. On penserait plutôt que les cabines, projetées en l’air par une violente tempête, se sont accrochées aléatoirement les unes aux autres pour ne plus se détacher.

Fourtou est fasciné par l’architecture depuis des années. Dans des œuvres précédentes, il a utilisé des maisons et des intérieurs lui rappelant son enfance. Il les a reproduits à l’identique, mais avec des dimensions surréalistes ou en les renversant. Avec leur architecture typique et leur histoire, il n’est pas surprenant que les cabines de plage aient attiré l’attention de Fourtou. Ces cabines sont nées en même temps que le tourisme belge lui-même, et étaient à l’origine principalement utilisées par les femmes pour se changer. Aujourd’hui, leurs dimensions et formes sont soumises aux réglementations particulières de chaque commune. La plupart des cabines caractérisant le littoral belge sont intégrées à la sculpture de Fourtou.

L’œuvre est placée à un endroit proéminent de la commune, ce qui lui donne des allures de totem ou d’emblème. Les totems représentant à l’origine les individus d’une communauté, la structure peut être vue comme un monument dédié à la culture balnéaire, un symbole de l’unité culturelle présente tout au long du littoral.  

Etes-vous le propriétaire de cet emplacement et les infos sont erronnés ? Veuillez proposer une correction.